The bottom line is a little in your diet likely won’t harm you, nor the animals, as E102 (Also known as Tartrazine) is 100% Vegan! The reason Tartrazine/E102 is definitely vegan is because the only way it’s produced is entirely synthetically. Glucose Syrup (Sulphites), Sugar, Corn Starch, Water, Acids (Citric Acid, Malic Acid), Acidity Regulator (E331), Flavourings, Colours (E102, E129, E133, E132). It is nowadays a by-product of the petroleum industry but originally was also derived from coal tar. It is E number 104. Tartrazine is a synthetic lemon yellow azo dye primarily used as a food coloring. Yes, due to it being part of the Azo Dye family that’s derived from Coal Tar it’s definitely vegan/vegetarian. None; E102 can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians. An expensive red colouring, not suitable for vegetarians as it is extracted from the crushed carcasses of the female Dactylopius coccus, a cactus-feeding scale insect, which are killed by either immersion in hot water or by exposure to sunlight, steam, or the heat of an oven.The variety in the appearance of commercial cochineal is caused by these differing methods. The Spruce Eats / Jennifer Perillo With a couple of quick substitutions, spaghetti squash pad Thai is a low-carb, Tartrazine (E102) FSANZ reviewed tartrazine (E102) – one of the Southampton six – in 2014 and confirmed it was non-toxic and safe for consumption. e102 Along with a handful of other AFCs, yellow 5’s safety has been called into question over the last several decades. *Contains genetically modified ingredients. Tartrazine - Veganwiki.info. Verdict: Blue #1, or Brilliant Blue, is not vegan. Tartrazine is a yellow dye used in foodstuffs, cosmetics etc. [1][2][3][4] It is also known as E number E102, C.I. It is not animal derived so vegans may use or consume it without compromising their ethics. While It is often easy to spot the animal-derived ingredients, the e numbers can be confusing.Here is a complete listing to use as a guide so you can easily spot which e numbers are vegan. E102: Tartrazine: yellow color, the HACSG* recommends to avoid it. As briefly touched on before, it’s an artificial color which is used for dying foods yellow, or in some cases green when combined with Brilliant Blue for example. About      Contact      Privacy Policy      Affiliate Disclosure, CrueltyFreeReviews.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by linking to Amazon.com. Jump to:navigation, search. Elated invites you to choose a vegan lifestyle. E Numbers Vegan or non-vegan Name(s)/Additives; E100: Vegan: Curcumin: E101: Sometimes Vegan: Riboflavin or lactoflavin: E101a: Vegan: Flavin mononucleotide: E102: Vegan: Tartrazine: E103: Vegan: Alkannin: E104: Vegan: Quinoline Yellow: E105: Vegan: Fast Yellow AB: E106: Vegan: Riboflavin-5-Sodium Phosphate: E107: Vegan: … People who suffer Asthma may also show an allergic reaction to it. Not only are vegan restaurants increasingly common, you can often get a reliably vegan meal at a wide variety of restaurants.The more you learn about the vegan dishes associated with various cuisines, the better you’ll know your options.There is a vast variety of satisfying vegan food available at fast food franchises, gourmet restaurants, and everything in between. Diet and Health vegan, vegetarian, halal, genetically modified or genetically engineered, etc. Like Red 40, it’s also a type of azo dye. Tartrazine (E102) Chemical Structure Tartrazine, also known as E102 in Europe, is an additive used in many foods to turn them a specific color, generally yellow. A synthetic yellow azo dye found in fruit squash, fruit cordial, coloured fizzy drinks, instant puddings, cake mixes, custard powder, soups, sauces, ice cream, ice lollies, sweets, chewing gum, marzipan, jam, jelly, marmalade, mustard, yogurt and many convenience foods together with glycerin, lemon and honey products.